I found this outfit at a thrift store

Fox fur knit skirt suit

Lets bypass the whole “OMG she shops at a thrift store” stigma thing.

This is an amazing outfit!

10
I always love it when I Google vintage clothing finds and am able to come up with a match.   I just wish I could remember where I found this 1970’s Vogue Magazine ad for JanE so I could give proper credit.

It’s a wool and rayon raya knit skirt suit.   When I first saw the knit cardigan jacket I thought it might be a vintage St. John Knits but then I found the JanE tag.  All three pieces were found separately.   The cardigan jacket was on a running rack just being wheeled out from the stock room.  The skirt was buried on the other side of the store in a massive jungle of pants, skirts and books and the shell top was in the middle of a dress rack.

After Ooohing and Ahhing at the amazingly healthy fox fur collar prior to finding the matching skirt and top,  I was ready to make my purchase and go home without ever knowing there were two other pieces.  I was so taken by that fur.   SO plush and so beautiful that my attention was nowhere else.  I don’t know why I stayed in the store after believing I was done shopping.    I would have been happy to leave the store with my fabulous find right then and there but  I am so glad I stayed.  The funny thing about it is after having found all three pieces I still didn’t realize that I had a three piece set.  It wasn’t until after I made my way to the windowed area to check for flaws did I realize that I had three separate pieces that actually belonged together…  even then I debated with myself whether or not I only wanted to buy the cardigan sweater, or if I should take the set and list it on eBay.  It wasn’t until I got it home and put it on the mannequin did I realize what a gem I’d found.

Considering how much less experienced with vintage clothing than I am with contemporary fashion and couture brands, some may call it luck, but in all honesty I’m absolutely shocked by my blissful ignorance that day.

I did sell it on auction via eBay.  It didn’t fetch the price I expected but it fetched its worth and all is well.  I do wonder if an experienced vintage vendor on a site like Etsy may have been able to find a more rich home for it though.

3 thoughts on “I found this outfit at a thrift store”

Leave a Reply

