DKNY (Donna Karan) Embroidered Trench Coat

This is actually somewhat of a redundant post.  Earlier today I was going to write about my Valentino Boutique Tweed skirt suit but I dropped everything because of this fun development in my never ending quest to survive as a Small American business as a reseller of fine designer clothing on eBay.

The back story is that I bought this DKNY beige embroidered trench coat (on the right)  some time ago. It’s been sitting in the back of my closet, folded in a storage bin because it was wrinkled and I intended to take it to the dry cleaners. Normally I steam my own clothing but my fear was that if I used my home steamer I’d leave water stains. The fabric content is 100% linen. Anyway, long story short, while I was researching my vintage 1980’s Valentino Boutique skirt suit, I came across this amazing Valentino embroidered trench which is very similar to my DKNY trench coat.

The Valentino retails for a whopping thirteen thousand dollars!!  Thats 13 and three 000’s as in $13,000.00.  That’s a lot of 0’s!

0

As mentioned above (and in my previous post) they’re not an exact match, one is double breasted and has a belt, the other is a basic button front and has no belt.   There is a strong similarity in that they are both beige, floral embroidered with multicolored threading and are trench coats.  Personally,  if I were on a budget, which I am, and I wanted to achieve the look within my budget, I would without a doubt, consider the DKNY embroidered trench coat to be a fine alternative.

Leave a Reply

