Italian Mid-Century Whippet Greyhound

Up for adoption is this Italian Mid-Century Modern Ceramic/Porcelain Greyhound Dog.

1

I listed this adorable Whippet Greyhound dog on eBay as being Majolica [Maiolica] but it was pointed out by an anonymous poster on the eBay arts & collectables message board that Majolica is limited to only pottery. In my very limited experience with Italian porcelain, I understood the term to mean, “painted Italian tin-glazed”. I have since removed the word from the description to prevent confusion. I’m not sure if it is of enough significance because I’m confident that collectors will know exactly what its is when they see it.

I found a very similar sculpture on 1rstdibs, the difference being the intricacies; the base the dog is sitting on and the finer details of the hand painted artwork.  I believe mind is more likely a bit older and closer to being an antique.

Their asking price is close to $4000.00.  I am only asking $850.00 – a great deal for the collector who knows exactly what a bargain it is!

015_white_dog_a_l
Theirs
12
Mine
Leave a Reply

