Antique Japanese 3 ft tall Gold Foo Dog floor vase / urn

Antique Satsuma Koro hand painted floor urn vase with foo dog dome lid – stands approx 3 feet tall. 

Colors:  Ombre brown and nutmeg, jade green, whites and creams, dark red, gold, orange and black.

Decoration: Cherry blossom trees, butterfly’s, and a Foo Dog dome lid.

It’s a personal, private collection…


I don’t really know what to say about this vase, all I can do is give you a personal history of its most recent 54 years.  It is part of my mothers estate.  She was a collector.  She passed away July 26th of this year with a full antique “boutique” store as well as a 2 bedroom house, also filled with antiques (and several vintage items).  She began collecting in the mid 1950s and I believe she obtained this vase in the early 1970s.  In her excitement, and this is the reason I included so many close up photos, she overlooked an old, repaired fracture.  I don’t know when the repair was done but I do know that she purchased it in it’s current condition.  She didn’t include this vase in her antique store inventory because of the fracture.  She admired items that were in their original condition and felt embarrassed when she made mistakes.  Due to its beauty (and value I would assume) she kept it displayed on top of a 4 foot tall rod iron and marble stand, in her home.  

I inherited in the neighborhood of 300-ish items, the rest of the estate has been sent to auction.  Of the 300-ish items that I have, only about a dozen or so of them are of this “fine” caliber.I’m not sure when I will be listing the rest.  There’s so much involved with an estate like this and there’s still quite a bit going on. I’d just assume take it one day, one piece at a time.  On that note, I leave you with two things to think about:
1) If you have knowledge or information that you think should have, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

2) If you are interested in seeing more items like this and would like to make an inquiry, please don’t hesitate to contact me. 

What I have is not limited to Satsuma, there’s other Japanese items (Imari), some French Ormolu, German and English things as well.


Thank you for looking and have a great day!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑